About Us / Media Centre / News & Announcements / BSP Announces Winners of 2018 Women’s Scholarship Grant

BSP Announces Winners of 2018 Women’s Scholarship Grant

Friday, January 19, 2018

Bank South Pacific (BSP) Vanuatu this week has announced the winners of the 2018 inaugural BSP Women's Scholarship Grant.

The winners in each category are; Keilyna Vusi for the Primary School category, Viola Surai and McCarthy Clayton Aru, for the Secondary school category, and Isobel Tokon and Adelyne Siba for the tertiary/adult worker category.

For this year, the competition was based on the theme for International Women's Day 2017, "Be Bold for Change," which calls on everyone help forge a better working world - a more gender inclusive World. Applicants were asked to answer the question, "How can you as a woman/girl help forge a better working world in Vanuatu?" in a written essay.

The judging panel was made up of prominent women leaders in Vanuatu, the Australian High Commissioner, Jenny Da Rin, Air Vanuatu pilot, Katura Marae, and Florinda Aru, Senior Economist for the Reserve Bank of Vanuatu.

BSP Vanuatu General Manager Stuart Beren said, "BSP is pleased to host this competition for the second year. The BSP Women's Scholarship Grant was initiated in recognition of the critical link between education and empowerment of women in Vanuatu and continues to give girls and women the opportunities to pursue an Education."

He added, "A key aspect of our sustainability strategy is to empower through education and these scholarship grants aim to do just that," said Mr Beren.

"I would like to thank every women and girls who applied last year in November and congratulate the winners for this year 2018. BSP believes that women and girls who benefits from education have a far stronger chance of entering the workforce and enjoying a strong and stable career."

We also thank the panel of well qualified judges and Congratulate the winners of this year's BSP Women's Scholarship Grant.