Melemaat School Dominates BSP Pikinini Cricket League Finals

Date: Friday November 4th, 2016

Melemaat and Saint Joseph Eratap dominated the 2016 Bank South Pacific (BSP) Pikinini Cricket League finals at Independence Park on Saturday 29th October.

Melemaat and St Joseph

In the under 11 girl category Saint Joseph proved to be too strong for Melemaat girls. In the boys category Melemaat School had an easy win over Vila East School.
In the girls under 13 hard ball final Melemaat School again prove to be the strongest team to beat in 2016 after thrashing Saint Joseph in the final.

Winning the toss Melemaat decided to send Saint Joseph in to bat. With some superb bowling Melemaat restrict their opponent to only 28 runs all out.
"Player of the Match", Leimara Tastuki was outstanding with the bat hitting massive sixes and fours to finish the game in 3 overs. There was a lot of excitement on the ground and the young cricketers did not disappoint the crowd. Sixes and fours were hit all over the park.

The under 13 boys boys final was a great way to end an excellent tournament. Batting first Saint Joseph got to a good start scoring quick singles, turning ones into two's and a few boundaries scoring a defendable score of 56 runs losing only 7 wickets in their eight overs. Melemaat had a shaky start losing two early wickets before strike batsman Marcel Taea came in to blast the ball around the park with fours and sixes scoring the winning runs in 3 overs to spare.

Vanuatu Cricket Association, General Manager, Pierre Chilia said, "despite the smaller number of schools participating, due to exams, we are pleased that a few schools that participated in the BSP Pikinini League in 2016 made the event fun and successful. It also provided an opportunity for all students to relax their minds, involve in sport and other activities to freshen their minds.

" BSP's Business Manager, Carol Veremaito, thanked the participating schools and expressed the Bank's commitment and support for 2017. "We encourage more schools to participate next year and hope we make it a better one."